• Technology and Data
  • Front End Sales and Marketing
  • Allergy
  • HIV
  • Women's Health
  • Migraine
  • Compounding
  • Continuous Glucose Monitoring
  • Mental Health Awareness
  • Veterinary Pharmacy
  • CBD
  • Infectious Disease
  • Eye Health
  • Digestive Health
  • Biosimilars
  • Influenza
  • Shingles
  • COPD Management
  • Pediatrics
  • Generics
  • Pain Management
  • COVID-19
  • Immunization
  • Oncology
  • Anticoagulants
  • Autoimmune Diseases
  • Dermatology
  • Diabetes
  • Respiratory
  • Heart Health
  • Cardiovascular Clinical Consult

APhA president-elect candidates announced


Members of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) will meet the 2014 president-elect candidates during the APhA annual meeting and exhibition in Orlando in March.

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) members will have an opportunity to meet the 2014 president-elect candidates during the APhA annual meeting and exhibition in Orlando in March. They are Jean-Venable “Kelly” Goode, PharmD, of Richmond, VA, and Michael A. Pavlovich, PharmD, of Long Beach, CA.

Goode is professor and director of community pharmacy residency program at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) School of Pharmacy. She has experience in hospital, long-term care, and ambulatory care settings. Most of her career she has focused on developing and implementing innovative patient care services in community pharmacy practice. She worked with Ukrop’s Pharmacy (now Martin’s Pharmacy) for a decade and now is a consultant for them. She practices in a federally qualified healthcare center for the homeless. She was a APhA-APPM president and is a member of the APhA Board of Trustees.

Pavlovich is owner of Westcliff Compounding Pharmacy, which specializes in compounding, pain management, and sports pharmacy. He has been an APhA trustee since 2008 and has served on the Finance Committee, Performance Improvement Committee, and Government Affairs Committee. He is a preceptor for several colleges of pharmacy and has practiced as a skilled nursing facility consultant, a hospice pharmacist, and as a community pharmacist. He is former president of the California Pharmacists Association and a past board member of the Pharmaceutical Care Network and California Pharmacists PAC.

APhA also announced four candidates for its Board of Trustees. Daniel E. Buffington, PharmD, president and founder of Clinical Pharmacology Services, and a faculty member with the University of South Florida College of Medicine, and Dennis K. Helling, PharmD, former executive director of pharmacy operations and therapeutics, Kaiser Permanente Colorado Region, will be one pair on the ballot. Robert Greenwood, BSPharm, owner and manager of Greenwood Drug, Waterloo, IA, and Denver Drug, Denver, IA, and Linda Garrelts MacLean, BA, BSPharm, associate dean and clinical professor for the Washington State University College of Pharmacy, will be the second pair on the ballot.

The candidate for honorary president is Metta Lou Henderson, BSPharm, MS, PhD, former assistant to the vice president of academic affairs, chair of the department of pharmacy practice, and associate dean for pharmacy student services at Ohio Northern University College of Pharmacy. She is author of “American Women Pharmacists Contributions to the Profession” and was the chair of the conference, “The Emerging Majority: Contributions of Women Pharmacists Past, Present, and Future.”

APhA members will be able to vote online or by mail when ballots are mailed in May. In early March, profiles of the candidates will be posted at www.pharmacist.com/elections.

Related Videos
fake news misinformation | Image Credit: Bits and Splits - stock.adobe.com
Dr. Charles Lee
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.