• Technology and Data
  • Front End Sales and Marketing
  • Allergy
  • HIV
  • Women's Health
  • Migraine
  • Compounding
  • Continuous Glucose Monitoring
  • Mental Health Awareness
  • Veterinary Pharmacy
  • CBD
  • Infectious Disease
  • Eye Health
  • Digestive Health
  • Biosimilars
  • Influenza
  • Shingles
  • COPD Management
  • Pediatrics
  • Generics
  • Pain Management
  • COVID-19
  • Immunization
  • Oncology
  • Anticoagulants
  • Autoimmune Diseases
  • Dermatology
  • Diabetes
  • Respiratory
  • Heart Health
  • Cardiovascular Clinical Consult

NACDS Pharmacy & Technology Conference honors industry leaders


Many awards were presented at the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Pharmacy & Technology Conference, but the Association?s highest honor, the Harold W. Pratt Award, was bestowed upon industry leader Joe Conda, senior vice president of strategic planning at H.D. Smith.

Many awards were presented at the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Pharmacy & Technology Conference, but the Association’s highest honor, the Harold W. Pratt Award, was bestowed upon industry leader Joe Conda, senior vice president of strategic planning at H.D. Smith.

Conda has dedicated 40 years to the pharmacy industry, providing leadership and expertise in healthcare- and pharmacy-related areas. Conda managed H.D. Smith’s strategic development process, translating opportunities into measurable objectives and assisting senior executive leadership with long-term planning.

The annual Pratt Award, established by the NACDS board of directors in 1985, recognizes individuals whose activities have contributed to the promotion, recognition, and improvement of the practice of pharmacy within the chain drug industry.  

“We are pleased to honor Joe’s 40 years of dedicated service to the pharmacy industry by bestowing upon him the Harold W. Pratt Award,” said NACDS President and CEO Steven C. Anderson, IOM, CAE. “Joe has spent his time building relationships and building strategy. He has forged relationships among many groups that benefited not only his company, but also the industry. He has helped shape pharmacy into what it has become today, and helped to create the momentum that will continue to enhance pharmacy’s role in healthcare delivery.”

Other awards at the conference were presented to community pharmacy leaders and were accompanied by generous contributions to the NACDS Foundation from several benefactors.

• The Fougera Pharmacy Scholarship Award was presented to Larry J. Merlo, president and CEO of CVS Caremark Corporation and NACDS board chairman. In Merlo’s honor, a contribution of $25,000 was made to the NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Student Scholarship Program to support the development of future leaders in patient care and to recognize pharmacy students who have a strong interest in pursuing a career in community pharmacy.

• The IMS Health Pharmacy Partnership Award was presented to Victor Curtis, RPh, vice president, pharmacy, Costco Wholesale dba Costco Pharmacies. A contribution of $10,000 was presented in Curtis’ honor to the NACDS Foundation. This award honors an individual or group that values the importance of data in fact-based communications and corporate planning.

• The Novartis Pharmaceutical Alliance Award was presented to Robert G. Egeland, RPh, vice president, pharmacy, Hy-Vee Inc., and chair of the 2010 NACDS Pharmacy & Technology Conference.

This award is presented in recognition of leadership, commitment, and service to the pharmacy industry. Egeland currently serves on the NACDS Policy Council and Regional Chain Committee. He also serves on the State of Iowa Pseudoephedrine Advisory Council and numerous pharmacy-school advisory boards. A $10,000 contribution was donated by Novartis Pharmaceuticals in Egeland’s name to the NACDS Foundation.

• The UCB Leadership in Pharmacy Award was presented to three recipients: Paul E. Jarris, MD, MBA, executive director, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials; on behalf of community pharmacy to Mark J. Gregory, RPh, vice president of pharmacy and government relations, Kerr Drug, Inc., and chair of the NACDS policy council; and Lisa M. Koonin, MN, MPH, senior advisor, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The award recognizes leadership and actions that have had a significant impact on the profession of pharmacy. A contribution in the amount of $10,000 is presented to the NACDS Foundation in the name of each award recipient.

• The Community Pharmacy Faculty Award was presented to Kristen Finley Sobota, PharmD, Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialists (BCPS) assistant professor of pharmacy practice, Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy.

This award was established to recognize a community pharmacy faculty member who has made significant contributions to the practice of community pharmacy through innovations in patient care. The award is accompanied by a $5,000 stipend to the recipient’s academic institution.

• The Community Pharmacy Preceptor of the Year Award was presented to Chasity D. Mease, PharmD, clinical coordinator, Walgreens Patient Care Center Shared Faculty, Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.

This award recognizes a pharmacy preceptor who has made significant contributions to patient care through the education of pharmacy students at Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience (APPE) rotations in a community pharmacy practice setting. The award is accompanied by a $5,000 stipend presented to the recipient’s academic institution.

“The NACDS Foundation joins our benefactors in honoring these distinguished community pharmacy leaders and educators for their outstanding contributions,” said Edith A. Rosato, RPh, IOM, president of the NACDS Foundation. “We are pleased to recognize their achievements in advancing pharmacy care on behalf of patients.”

Related Videos
Related Content
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.