ASHP recognizes pair for their patient safety endeavors


Awards distributed at start of annual meeting for hospital pharmacists

ASHP kicked off its 42nd annual Midyear Clinical Meeting by honoring two people for their efforts to improve patient safety. During the meeting's opening session at the Venetian Resort in Las Vegas, ASHP bestowed its Award for Distinguished Leadership in Health-System Pharmacy Practice on William W. Churchill, M.S., executive director of pharmacy services at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. Churchill was honored for his work to improve the safety and efficiency of medication safety-related technology and automation, and for expanding the role of clinical pharmacy specialists through the use of medication safety technology. ASHP also doled out honors to Janet M. Corrigan, Ph.D., MBA, president and CEO of the National Quality Forum (NQF) in Washington, D.C. Corrigan received the society's Board of Directors Award for Honor for highlighting the connection between the integrity of the medication-use process and the safety and outcomes of patient care. Corrigan serves on various boards and committees, including the Quality Alliance Steering Committee, Hospital Quality Alliance, and National Center for Healthcare Leadership.

To see more Daily News articles, click here.

To go to the Drug Topics homepage, click here.


Related Videos
fake news misinformation | Image Credit: Bits and Splits -
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.