CPF continues work to further improve patient care



The Community Pharmacy Foundation (CPF), a non-profit organization aimed at providing community pharmacy with resources for research and development to improve patient care delivery, has issued a summary of what the organization accomplished in 2012 as well as what it has in the works for this year. 

In the 2012 calendar year, CPF awarded nine grants totaling more than $375,000. Since its inception in 2002, the CPF has awarded almost $5 million for more than 125 projects and studies focused on community pharmacists advancing patient care services. Of this $5 million approximately 80% was awarded to college of pharmacy faculty who worked with practicing pharmacists to advance the services community pharmacies provide. In recent years, many of the premiere studies have also involved collaboration with health plans.

Three grants awarded by the CPF involve state pharmacy associations and colleges of pharmacy in the respective state working with a developing Accountable Care Organization and/or Patient Centered Medical Home.

“It is critical for the pharmacy profession to seize this opportunity to continue to forge new frontiers associated with Medication Therapy Management (MTM) services from community pharmacists,” said Phil Burgess, CPF president. “The [CPF] is proud to be leading the funding for research in cooperation with colleges of pharmacy and community pharmacists as this healthcare agenda evolves.”

Two grant awardees have completed their respective research:

1.     Michelle Chui, PharmD, PhD, University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy, “Physician Referral and Recommendation of Pharmacist Provided MTM Services

2.     Natasha Michaels, PharmD, Kerr Drug, “Implementation of a Personalized Medicine Pharmacogenomics Service in a Community Pharmacy

Several CPF Board members and CPF-associated staff will be attending the American Pharmacists Association annual meeting in Los Angeles next month. They will be available to talk with other pharmacist attendees to assist with any aspect of the CPF.

The CPF Board of Directors consists of Phil Burgess, president, Ill.; Lonnie Hollingsworth, Texas; Brian Jensen, Wis.; Linda MacLean, Wash.; Dorinda Martin, Texas; Randy Myers, Ohio; Carlos Ortiz, Mass.; Robert Osterhaus, Iowa; and Louis Sesti, executive director, Mich. 



Related Videos
fake news misinformation | Image Credit: Bits and Splits - stock.adobe.com
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.